You can put a cat in an oven, but that don't make it a biscuit – Sidney Deane

Loggy – The Dream

So here’s a pretty cool jam from this white dude just trying to make it, livin the dream. The beat is definitely more clubish and the hook poppish, but I can dig it. Remember when white dudes rapping was like a big deal? Kinda like back in high school when I would show up to school or house parties in a throwback and matching headband or full addidas jump suit. One thing I hate more than anything is when people say to white kids like me, “you wanna be black.” Not that there is anything wrong with being black, I love black people. The comment is just so blatently ignorant. First of all, not every black person wears throwbacks and listens to rap music. Maybe the black people you see on TV all fit that description, but thats a whole other story. I grew up in the suburbs, predominantly white, and remember some black kids being ridiculed for not being black enough…what the fuck is that? And why can’t a white kid growing up loving basketball and hip hop take some of that culture and mix it with his own to become his own fucking person, instead of simply being labeled a white kid who wants to be black. I’ll just say this; we have come a long way in terms of racism in our country, but it will be a loooong time before we truely become color-blind and can all see/accept eachother simply as Americans. In the mean time, Hip Hop will continue to be both beneficial and detrimental to the cause.

Loggy – The Dream at usershare

2 responses

  1. You know I somewhat understand where your coming from, but one thing that I don’t understand is the white guys who love the culture and everything, but not the women. Its funny because I have met people (non-black) who have welcomed this sort of culture (associated with blacks) dress the certain way, sort of act the certain way but like, when you talk about dating or relationships, that go beyond platonic, its like they say “eewww, oh God no, never.” Like what’s that about? Its just a thought, and I would love to hear your thoughts. I’m black.

    July 24, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    • I mean, It’s hard to criticize people for who/what they are naturally attracted to. When it comes to different races though, It’s even harder to determine whether that is just a matter of taste/preference or if their is some underlying prejudice of some sort. Me personally, I love all women, haha. I have never dated a black girl but I think that’s more or less because I don’t know a lot of black girls. I mean, I’m from the suburbs, went to a predominantly white high school, was in a frat in college that had about 5 black guys out of 90, and the bars or places I go out to in the city now are also predominantly filled with white people. The most exposure I got to black women was when I went out with my buddy I use to work with, a black dude, we’d go to the clubs where I was literally the only white guy. It was funny because I had been to the same clubs before on a different night and it was a completely different crowd, almost all white people. It’s kinda messed up how we segregate ourselves like that. Anyway, I am definitely attracted to black women and would absolutely consider dating one, but I kinda feel like ones I have worked with, or come into contact with, aren’t really into white dudes.

      July 24, 2011 at 5:24 pm

Leave a Reply

