You can put a cat in an oven, but that don't make it a biscuit – Sidney Deane

Big K.R.I.T. – Dreamin (dirty)

Although I came upon this one yesterday, I couldn’t just throw it in my “Rap up” with the possibility of it being overlooked. First let me say this, I can’t stand stereotypes or generalizations. When people say they don’t listen to rap music because they aren’t from the ghetto, don’t deal drugs, and aren’t addicted to crack I get pretty frustrated. My first instinct is to call them an ignorant racist, but unfortunately to the average  listener, that really may be all they are exposed to. Who’s fault is that? We as consumers are the ones who create the demand. In order to fulfill this demand, you even see some rappers out there simply “telling stories”about that life since their label refuses to put out any other product.

“I told em call me Krit, they told me change my name
Don’t be alarmed if you don’t make it that’s just part of the game
Besides I aint rap about dope nor did I sell it
I guess the story of a country boy just aint compellin”

Look at Joe Budden at Def Jam. They wanted dude to go to the clubs, pop bottles, throw money on strippers, and dismiss every woman as nothing more than a fuck doll, but that aint Joe. Nor is it K.R.I.T. and nor does it give proper representation for a significant demographic in America. My bigger point is this; despite being a privileged white kid from the suburbs, I CAN relate to several black rappers. Some are high school dropouts, and some are college grads. Some are drug dealers, and some struggle with addiction. Some struggle in their search for love, and some won’t give it another chance. What they all have in common though, is that they expressed these struggles and emotions openly through the art of rap regardless of the establishment and their seeming obsession with fitting everyone into their respective category. In doing so, I don’t see the color of their skin nor the environment in which they struggle, but those shared commonalities on their views about life, the world around them, and their true self. It’s great to see some of these artists like Big K.R.I.T. and J. Cole on the verge of breaking the mainstream, and others like B.O.B. who have seemingly already made the jump. I think it’s a good sign for things to come, both in Rap and society as a whole.

Listen to the lyrics people. This first one comes off K.R.I.T.’s upcoming mixtape “Return Of 4Eva.” The others are mostly from his earlier work on “K.R.I.T. Wuz Here.”

Big K.R.I.T. – Dreamin (prod by Big K.R.I.T.) (right click, save as to download)

Big K.R.I.T – Hometown Hero ft Yelawolf (remix) (right click, save as to download)

Big K.R.I.T. – My Interpretation (prod by Big K.R.I.T.) (right click, save as to download)

Big K.R.I.T. – Somedayz (right click, save as to download)

Big K.R.I.T. – Neva Go Back (right click, save as to download)

2 responses

  1. Sened

    I enjoyed this post.

    March 2, 2011 at 8:14 am

Leave a Reply

