You can put a cat in an oven, but that don't make it a biscuit – Sidney Deane

Weekend Rap Up: Big K.R.I.T., Game ft Yelawolf, The Dean’s List, Azad Right & Red Cafe


I can’t say enough about Big K.R.I.T. He epitomizes what Hip Hop should be. Thankfully with K.R.I.T., it’s looking more and more like what it will be. We’ll never lose the ringtone rappers, because Americans really like to drink and party, and a hard beat with mindless lyrics is the best way to get it in. I’m not trying to act like I don’t enjoy that either, but I appreciate and enjoy the opposite much more and just want people to recognize that this is what Hip Hop really is. By the way, I still don’t understand why people are so infatuated with other people’s riches….I find the monologue at the beginning of this song ironic in that K.R.I.T. dispels the notion described by an A/R but still speaks really fast to make sure you know what he’s all about within the first 20 seconds of the song.

Big K.R.I.T. – American Rapstar

Game is another real rapper whom I thoroughly enjoy listening to because of his perspective on life and rap. Yeah, his perspective on life is slightly different than mine because of the way he came up, but why should that mean I can’t get into it and still share some views? It’s like if you’re interested in sociology and the study of other cultures, these songs are your study guides. And then you have Yelawolf who grew up in poverty as well, actually homeless up until a couple years ago. Both dudes represent stories of adversity, hard work and success.

Game – Rough ft Yelawolf

I don’t know enough about these guys yet to really figure out who the mastermind behind the production is, but dudes make JAMS. Seems to me like just a couple college kids enjoying the shit out of life right now, while providing good music for everyone else to enjoy the shit out of along with them. I see big things in the future for these guys.

The Dean’s List – Caveman ft Dani Ummel

What is rap when you really break it down? It’s poetry over instrumentals. Some are better poets than others. Some poets you can relate to and actually find inspiration in. This is what I look for in Hip Hop. Ironic that I just found this guy the day after I started applying to go back to school. Made the mistake the first time in trying to get a degree in something I thought would make me marketable in order to find a job to make money. I’m a little older now and know what I’m really meant to do, and could really give a fuck what kind of money I make….Both songs come off EP “A Piece of Mine.

“You can be the best at what you do
but it doesn’t matter cuz it means nothing til you’re paid.
I’d rather stay poor doing something that I love
Than to ever be rich doing something that I hate”

Azad Right – Spiderwebs

“Get off that plane, change your flight,
it aint too late to save your life.
You still got time to change your grind,
you don’t know what can make you shine until you try.
The lack of passion makes a man feel worthless,
so I’m forever grateful that I know my purpose”

Azad Right – Love of the Game

Red Cafe is definitely an artists I thought should have blown up by now. He’s got the distinct voice, solid flow, clever punchlines, and usually really good beats. Time will tell, but I think he’s still got something in store for the mainstream. I really like this mixtape “Above the Cloudz.” Check out my favorite tracks below.

Red Cafe – I Luv ft Talib Kweli

Red Cafe – We Get It On ft Omarion

Red Cafe – Faded ft Rick Ross

Leave a comment