You can put a cat in an oven, but that don't make it a biscuit – Sidney Deane

Wifey Wednesday: Major Lazer, Florence + The Machine vs Calvin Harris, Miguel, Frank Ocean, Usher + The Hood Internet

Being that it was unfortunately probably my most popular weekly post, I had to bring it back. But I don’t have much time to rant about pointless shit (you’re welcome?) so I’ll just get right into it…

Ursher baby. Dude is like the Tim Duncan of R & B. He quietly keeps coming back to kill this shit! Add a bunch of “HWUH” courtesy of Ricky Ross and you got yourself a hit.

Usher – Let Me See (ft. Rick Ross)

Majah Lazah! More mellow than what we’re use to hearing from these dudes, but amazing nonetheless. I wish I knew how to describe electronically produced sounds, because I would be more specific. But all in all, I love the sounds in this song. Soft female vocals always a plus as well.

Major Lazer – Get Free (ft. Amber of Dirty Projectors)

I went to the Calvin Harris show in Chicago a couple months back…let’s just say I did not fit in. The wifey really likes this one. Me too. Gets the people goin!

Florence + The Machine – Spectrum (Calvin Harris Remix)

I like to think that I discovered Miguel because I fell in love with that “Sure Thing” joint when I heard it off some obscure new school mixtape back in 09 before anyone gave a shit. Obviously, that is ridiculous. But still, I knew dude had talent right from the start. Well, seems like that talent is growing, and “it’s just a matter of time”, literally, before he get’s it all. This one works really well in the motivation department.

Miguel – …ALL

This is the first single/popworthy song I’ve heard from Frank, and I’m not mad either. I do like the obscure dark sounding shit from Mr. Ocean slightly better, but dude has gotta eat, right?

Frank Ocean – PDA

Just in case you weren’t feeling the electronic R & B vibe, you might like the indie.

The Hood Internet – See Youth (Usher // Santigold)

Leave a Reply

