You can put a cat in an oven, but that don't make it a biscuit – Sidney Deane

Rap Up: Curren$y ft. Wale, XV, G-Scott, Childish Gambino ft. Beck, Meek Mill ft. Drake & Jeremih + Chevy Woods & Wiz Khalifa with Harry Fraud Production

UPDATED WITH ACTIVE LINKS!!!!!!!! 6-15-12

It’s been a minute since I shared some new rap music, so let’s keep this rolling with a handful of jams I’ve been sitting on. I still can’t decide how I feel about Curren$y. I mean, I guess I can say that I’m not much of a fan, but wouldn’t feel comfortable discrediting his abilities. He can rhyme, but I just don’t like his flow at all. I feel like it works on some select beats that match his style, but most of the time it just seems so off to me. Wale on the other hand, oooh weee! How many time do I have to tell ya’ll he’s killin this rap game! This one’s off Curren$y’s debut LP The Stoned Immaculate.

“No bullshit, every Chi shy bitch can get a rose
Meaning arouse, I’m sorry I’m not too good with vowels
I got a thousand bitches I’m not too good with vows” – Wale

Curren$y ft. Wale – What It Look Like


We all need to get up on some G-Scott. I say “we” because I’ve only come across a couple of songs and luckily found this gem. But damn, dude can rhyme. I had to share a healthy portion of his mastered craft below just in case you’re one of them fools Jay was talkin bout, skimming through music and shit….smh. This one’s off G’s mixtape Weekend in Los Vegas….currently on the to-listen to (in full) list.

“Verse three, my first two verses connect
An intercourse of my wisdom, my lyrics are having sex
Keep Nikes all on my feet, my motivations in check
my focus’s to succeed, your struggles to suck less
Put my soul on these tracks in hopes that one day I run it
Did it all blunted and kicks us a couple hundred
Eat beats, though I am no Doug Funny
Pork chops these dog days were spent chasin the money
When you don’t got it she saying pleasure to meet her
Soon as she see green she beggin ya to skeet her”

G-Scott – Karma

Welcome to the Harry Fraud portion of this weeks Rap Up. I can’t get enough of this dude. I mean, he even gets me excited to listen to Chevy Woods! Well not really, he just makes it tolerable. Nah, that’s not true, Chevy does his thing. I really like both of these hooks though. Harry just provides such a beautiful canvas, I really don’t know how anyone could fuck that shit up. Something to ride to right here….just keep the army guns at home, Delonte. First one is off Chevy’s Gangland mixtape.

Chevy Woods – Delonte West (prod. by Harry Fraud)

Wiz Khalifa – Oz’s & Lb’s (ft. Chevy Woods & Berner) (prod. by Harry Fraud)

Dreamchasers 2 is also still on my to-listen to list (fuckin never ends), but this is a pretty nice single-worthy track to garner some more attention to Meek and the mixtape. Gotta love the church piano & organ combo.

Meek Mill – Amen (ft. Drake & Jeremih)

XV is absolutely one of my favorite new school rappers. Just an honest dude who represents himself to the fullest, along with everyone else who would rather be different while true to themselves as oppose to the norm/popular/sheep.

“You watch a throne? I just see a chair
And a crown that I’ma get and not even wear
Cuz before I got on they didn’t seem to care
So I said fuck your circle I’ma be a square”

XV – Be There, Be Square (prod. by Xaphoon Jones)

Real interesting joint right here, specifically the verse from Beck. But it’s different and it works. Also, I think Donald is at his best over a piano instrumental. Diggin’ in.

Childish Gambino – Silk Pillow (ft. Beck)

Leave a Reply

