You can put a cat in an oven, but that don't make it a biscuit – Sidney Deane

Throwback Thursday: The Remix Version ft. Ron Isley vs Riot Earp + Mark Morrison & Biggie vs Viceroy

So apparently this type of reggaeish house jam below is considered moombahton? I would like to investigate the origins of something like that. Who was the person to come up with that nomenclature and how many songs did it take before people stopped laughing in their face after referring to it as such? *Sidenote #1: How smart do I sound when I feel like it?* You know, when does that “tipping point” occur? *Sidenote #2: If sociology and/or the way social trends/word of mouth spread, then you need to get your hands on Malcolm Gladwell’s The Tipping Point. If there were ever an appropriate time to say it, “epic” read.* I don’t remember what I was talking about, but upon hearing this song, I automatically heard Ice Cube’s “It Was a Good Day.” Surprisingly, it wasn’t even the instrumental that stood out, it was the “Do I….” from Ron Isley’s “Footsteps In The Dark.”Haha, how awesome is that? I can’t believe Mr. Biggs played such an integral role in more than just my favorite R. Kelly jams of all time.*Sidenote #3: SEE BELOW FOR THEE THROWBACK JAM OF ALL TIME!* And then check out Riot’s joint.

Riot Earp – Should I Care

Ummm, I’m pretty sure nothing really needs to be said for this next one. If I post it, I meant it. The remix does the original justice. Unlike Mark’s ex-girl, I’m not lying to ya.

Mark Morrison – Return of The Mack (Viceroy Remix)

A 2nd entry from Viceroy tonight. I don’t feel like talking about silly remixes anymore. This one, as do the previous two jams, feel like summer. Good times in the Chi.

Notorious B.I.G. – Going Back To Cali (Viceroy Remix)

Leave a Reply

