You can put a cat in an oven, but that don't make it a biscuit – Sidney Deane

Mixtape Monday: Childish Gambino’s “Royalty”, Terry Urban ft. Nas x Amy Winehouse + Chi Duly x The Weeknd

I was out of town all weekend and still adjusting to life back at work so I haven’t been up on enough new music to share any specific jams. But it’s been too long since my last post, so here’s a couple of mixtapes I’ll be paying closer attention to over the next week that I think you might find appealing as well.

Donald finally released his latest mixtape effort on the 4th (I think) after weeks of leaks. Definitely looking forward to diving into this one to uncover what’s been running through Mr. Glover’s mind. Good thing I have a 45 minute commute to and from work….

Childish Gambino – ROYALTY

Terry Urrrrrrrban has created what I can only assume to be another masterpiece, as I have yet to get into it. But the thought of Nas’ lyricism over some Amy Winehouse melodies has got me pretty excited. I have a feeling this will be one of those tapes that just doesn’t get old. Just press play and let it ride.

Terry Urban – Me & Mr. Jones

Chi Duly gives The Weeknd a little bit of a kick with this next one. It’s been out for a minute but I just came up on it, so in case you haven’t yet…

Chi Duly x The Weeknd – Balloons of Haus

2 responses

  1. im assuming my tracks on Terry Urban’s project lead you to balloons of haus. awesome coincidence if not tho

    July 10, 2012 at 10:51 am

  2. Moo

    Ha. I hadn’t actually listened to, or checked out the production on, Terry Urban’s joint until after I posted this, so it actually was somewhat of a coincidence. I rolled through a bunch of blogs the week before so I don’t remember where I specifically found each of these, but it could have been another blogger making the connection….Anyway, good work on that Hip Hop Tears. Pretty impressive to flip Nas & Amy Winehouse successfully with that up-beat of a tempo.

    July 12, 2012 at 10:41 am

Leave a Reply

