You can put a cat in an oven, but that don't make it a biscuit – Sidney Deane

Weekend Rap Up: Kendrick Lamar, DJ Drama ft 2 Chainz & Meek Mill & Jeremih, 1982 ft Big K.R.I.T., S-Preme, Bas + Jon Connor

You know, I get really frustrated with rap music sometimes. First of all, there are way too many rappers nowadays. And second, way too much money and fame gets credited to undeserving/untalented assholes. But it’s dudes like Kendrick that keep me coming back. You see, there will always be the business aspect corrupting the game. And there will always be wannabe rappers over-saturating the internet. But there will also forever be masterful young talents coming up under the radar that eventually, with enough push from the true hip hop fans, will get their chance to shine and rep the genre the right way. Exhibit A…

Kendrick Lamar – Swimming Pools (Drank)

I couldn’t NOT post a 2 Chainz song if I even tried. The dude is literally EVERYWHERE. I gotta say though, this is probably one of the more respectable verses I’ve heard from him. Although, I do try to avoid him at all costs, so what do i know. I will say this also; I don’t hate what the dude is doing. I know I hate on him, but it’s more of me hating on the game. Is hip hop really turning into a hype machine likened to fashion trends decided by some clown overseas (exec) who passes that down to someone famous (rapper) who then leads the sheep of the world to follow suit? Regardless, I like this song. Thank you Meek Mill and Jeremih.

DJ Drama – My Moment (ft 2 Chainz, Meek Mill & Jeremih)

I’m a big fan of the sound that Statik creates for Termanology to showcase his lyricism. It seems only right for Big K.R.I.T. to jump on that same canvas and deliver his “indestructible flow.”

1982 – Lights Down (ft. Big K.R.I.T.)

This dude is a spitter, period. He’s not your typical “hard” gun/coke/money rapper. It’s crazy to think about in today’s ego-infalted materialistic rap game, but get this; dude lets his rap skills do the talking. Waaaaoooooooowwwww.

S-Preme – Nothing Less

I just recently discovered this Bas dude, and I think more than anything I just like his vibe. He seems like a chill, lighthearted dude with a nice flow and natural content selection. He’s not reaching like some of these clowns trying to make up for their insecurities. I dig that shit. This joint is pretty smooth btw.

Bas – Nothin’ Is Free

Sometimes I get sucked into looking for new songs for hours on end. It’s like a nervous addiction  that can’t be stopped once begun, or at least until I find that joint that finally satisfies my hunger for the day. I almost gave up this morning, but told myself I’d give it one more page of listens before I call it a day. Much to my delight I found this Jon Connor link at the bottom of the page (page 17 to be exact) and took a listen with hopes he would quench my desire. Oh, and it was good. With a little help from BRIX’ utilization of a sample from one of thee GREATEST RAP SONGS OF ALL TIME (along with the chipmunked Gavin DeGraw hook, as pointed out by the wifey), JC and his uncanny lyrical prowess comes through in the clutch.

Jon Connor – Don’t Wanna Be (prod. by BRIX)

Leave a comment